top of page
Writer's pictureAvi Nevel

Golden Gate Park San Francisco, a place model boat enthusiasts love.


While it was cold and snowy in the northeast, I had the opportunity to travel to Spreckels Lake San Francisco where boat modelers can practice their hobby year round. Spreckels Lake is a wonderful place in the Golden Gate Park in San Francisco; a lake that was built especially for model boat builders in 1904. Who would believe? (Cost $21,000).

At that time, a building facility was built for the San Francisco Model Yacht Club organization. The name given was to commemorate industrialists, philanthropists and Adolph Spreckels.

During my visit I had the opportunity to talk with Harold Hasselbach, who is one of the

current model boat assistants. See a link to Hasselbach's description of the park and its uses. Hasselbach, who is an aeronautics engineer would love to communicate with other boat enthusiasts. I have his email if someone is interested in communicating with him.

One interesting thing I learned is that the mooring is usually frequented by R/C modelers, powerboat modelers and the afternoon, model sailboats. (I guess the afternoon breeze is a factor).

So, if you travel to San Francisco and you like model boats, don't miss the opportunity to visit Spreckles Lake park at the Golden Gate Park. I guarantee you will love it.

30 views0 comments
bottom of page