top of page
Writer's pictureAvi Nevel

Visit to Edinburgh Model Boat club


On July 2, 2017, my wife and I visited Edinburgh and had the great opportunity to meet the president of Edinburgh Model Boat club, an affiliate of the Scottish Federation of Boat Clubs. Needless to say, it was a great visit.

 

First we were picked up from our hotel by Jim Sneddon, (club president) who brought us to Edinburgh Public Park where there is a beautiful pond for the public and more importantly, boat modelers to meet and sail their boats at Inverleith Park. Jim, president of the club told us about the club. See video.

We met three other members, David Jack (Club Secretary), Alan Docherty (a pillar of the club), and Phil Townend (Commodore) who showed us their beautiful model boats. See photo.

I sailed their models with them. It was very timely to see the model that David Jack built, which is a World War I SC-131 U.S. Submarine Chaser. This is a beautiful model and as it was July 4, I felt we were doing a salute to the U.S. with the model. See video.

All in all, it was a great visit to meet model boat builders from other countries. I had the opportunity to tell them about the Mystic Moorings Club, which I am a member of. I left them an invitation to visit us in Rhode Island and New England to see the beautiful museums we have; Mystic Seaport Museum, the Hereshoff Museum and the Steamship Museum.

Again a big thank you to my fellow modelers in Edinburgh and I hope we will have an opportunity to reciprocate.

The day, however, did not end with the visit as we went to see the Royal Yacht Britannia in Edinburgh.

This is will be in a separate post.

270 views0 comments
bottom of page