top of page

Letter From Moran Samuel

Dear Friends,

In a few days we will be on the plane and on our way to Boston.

I feel honored to be able to take part in the famous Head of the Charles rowing race. I know it's going to be an amazing experience and a good way to strengthen our relationships with the community, the Jewish community, the rowing community in Boston and beyond.

Boston was my favorite place while visiting the US for the first time in 2003. I was young, one year after my army service and still walking on two legs. I came to work as a camp counselor and a basketball instructor at a girl's camp in the Berkshire area of Massachusetts. When the camp was over I decided to volunteer at "Americas Camp" for children who lost a parent during 9/11. It was one of the most inspiring and touching experiences in my life. As an Israeli I felt I could relate to the children, because I've been exposed to terrorism and wars ever since I was born. (I was born in 1982 during the first Lebanon war). I met wonderful people during that time.

After the camp experience, I visited my Dads' family, who lives across the east coast. One of my cousins lived in Boston at that time and made me fall in love with this beautiful place.

On my visit to the US in the fall of 2011, I knew I had to come back and see how Boston looks like during the fall. It was amazing!

When I met Misha Joukowsky in Israel in July, he told me about the project. I could not believe that his generosity and so many other people were making it possible for me to come back.

Now I have the opportunity to come again! I can't wait!

Moran Samuel

Moran Samuel Boston.jpg


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page